Quickie Book Review – Clipped Wings by Helena Hunting

Clipped Wings (Clipped Wings, #1)Clipped Wings by Helena Hunting

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Well, there were parts of this book that I really, really, liked. And others not-so-much. Hayden was done very well and he was definitely my favorite part of the book. There was a time or two where I thought he did or said something a little out of character, but overall I found him swoon-worthy and found myself longing to be under his (tattoo) gun. (insert eyebrow wiggle here)

Tenley, I didn’t like as much. I didn’t hate her, I just didn’t connect with her as much as I would have liked. I can’t put my finger on why that is, though. Perhaps it’s the way she reacts/handles her creepy Adviser or her over-bearing brother-in-law.

Together the couple is good, and I love how the tattoo/ deviant behavior/ pain-linked thing is worked into the story line. The other characters in the book are interesting and colorful, and the writing itself is superb. More than once I wished I was reading a dead-tree book so that I could circle a particularly good line or passage.

My biggest -thumbs-down-dislike was the ending. I mean…holy-cliffhanger. In all fairness, that wasn’t even a cliffhanger in the typical sense. There was no tying-up of issues, no warning whatsoever. I went to turn the page, only there were no more pages. It was like someone left off the last chapter (or several) and because of that the book didn’t feel complete at all. Usually, I don’t mind a cliff-hanger, but this one left a bad taste in my mouth.

**I received a copy of this novel via NetGalley for review purposes.

Leave a Reply

