Quickie Book Review – One More Body by Josh Stallings

One More BodyOne More Body by Josh Stallings

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Flabbergasted. Sated. Speechless. Once again, I am in awe of the tale spun by the Josh Stallings in this third (and final?) book of this series. The man is a flipping genius. The kind of genius that other writers would kill to be.

I finished it yesterday, and my brain is still processing it all. I feel like one of those characters at the end of a high-stakes, gritty action movie– walking away bloody and gimpy, with rubble and destruction settling behind me. I feel victorious, heroic and tarnished. I’m pretty sure this is one book that I fell into, lived and breathed. It, and the first two books in the series, have changed me at the molecular level. I’m wearing the battle scars proudly, right along side of Moses and Freedom and the rest of the colorful cast of characters.

I could yammer on about Stallings’ ability to write vivid, action-packed scenes. Or his way of cutting down to the root of humanity’s cancerous underbelly, his minimalistic (and poetic) descriptions, or even his way of flavoring a story with spices from all walks of life. But I won’t– you’ll just have to read it for yourself.

There was one quote I want to leave you with, from near the end of One More Body:
“They say time heals all wounds. Bullsh*t. Time just gives you enough scar tissue to make it bearable.”

Yes, yes it does, Moses.

Posted on November 8, 2013, in books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

