Book Review – Foresaken by the Others by Jess Haines

Forsaken by the Others (H&W Investigations, #5)Forsaken by the Others by Jess Haines

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Like an idiot, I accepted this ARC (via NetGalley) even though I haven’t read any of the other books. Because of that, this book took me a while to get into since I couldn’t keep the cast of characters or their importance straight in my head.

Other than my hubris, I did find that I really liked this novel. The world-building is great, the writing was sound and I do plan on going back and starting the series from the beginning.

The steamy-goodness at the story is, uh, nice 🙂 but it’s in limited quantities, so don’t read this thinking it’s going to be chock-full of romance.

Like others have mentioned, I did question the motives at times (give up my cell phone without a fight– no way!) but it wasn’t enough to detract from the story.

If you’re not a huge fan of cliffhangers, be prepared to be annoyed though. While I understand the purpose they serve– to move the reader on to the next book– I don’t like it when I’m finished with a book, but it doesn’t feel finished. If the story is mostly wrapped up, the cast gets to take a breath, and then is hit with another problem to carry over to the next book, that’s one thing. But, if it’s “WHAM! BAM! Over!” where the book essentially ends during the action it’s more frustrating in my opinion.

Still, I’ll go back and start the series from book One. Maybe by the time I’m done the next book will be out!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

