Book Review – How Beauty Met the Beast by Jax Garren

How Beauty Met the Beast (Tales of the Underlight, #1)How Beauty Met the Beast by Jax Garren

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ll have to start this review with an admission… I just realized that I’ve never read a steam punk novel. (I know, I know. I deserve to be drawn and quartered.) With that said, I think this was a good novel to dip my toes into the water with, as I’d imagine hard-core steam punk fans would classify this as being “light” in the Steam-punkery.

I really liked the characters, setting and world building in this novel. The one area that I found lacking probably stems from my own frustrations– but I wish that there had been a bit more in the way of steamy-goodness sprinkled throughout the book. The sexually charged scene near the beginning of the novel was oh-my-lands hot, but from there it was mostly teasing looks and the possibility of something more substantial happening in the future novels.

With that said, I enjoyed this novel enough to read the next one in the series, just to see how things develop from here. Overall, a great read!

View all my reviews

Posted on June 12, 2013, in Reading and writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

