Quickie Book Review – Spirit Horses by Alan S. Evans

Spirit HorsesSpirit Horses by Alan S. Evans

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What was Great: The plot, characters, emotions, scenery and plight of the horses.

What I had a problem with: the chunks of “story teller” passages.

I understand the need to condense larger amounts of information for the sake of book length, but I didn’t care for the longer voice-over type of narratives toward the beginning of the novel. I felt like a really good editor would have pruned and condensed these areas for better readability. Had it not been for the things that were great about this novel, I wouldn’t have been able to overlook the parts that irked me.

Now, with all that said, this is a book that I could see some Hollywood big-shot making into a fabulous movie. It has it all– heartache, tragedy, a man on a mission, second-chance love, beautiful scenery, historical references, and an ending that you won’t see coming.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

