Book Review – Broken Shell Island by Dalya Moon

Broken Shell Island (The Witches of West Shore, #1)Broken Shell Island by Dalya Moon

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

First off, I really need to point out that this book was totally clean. As in, G-rated-not-so-much-as-an-innuendo clean. Those of you that know my work might have been confused, so I felt like I needed to clarify that from the get-go.

Now, to the meat of things. Broken Shell Island was one heck of a ride. It’s been a while since I’ve read something targeted to the often-more imaginative younger generation and reading this book reminded me of the magic of innocence and how inventive and creative writers can be when they shrug off the status-quo of adulthood.

Moon writes with crisp clarity, even when the story calls for suspended disbelief. After reading this book, I’m almost convinced that there really is a Broken Shell Island out there, and this novel was just a clever book-inside-a-book-inside-a-book plot!

While the writing style pulled it all together, the perfected details made this story. The Goats! I loved those little guys. And the tiny, bubbling bit of magic that saved the day– just goes to show that no matter how inconsequential a talent, it could very well come in handy in the right moment.

I’ll certainly read more books by Dalya Moon, even though my tastes usually run more adult.

View all my reviews

Posted on October 8, 2012, in books, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

