New Book Feature & Review – Thought I Knew You by Kate Moretti

The Book

Blurb:

Claire Barnes is shattered when her husband, Greg, goes on a business trip and never returns.

Unwilling to just wait for the police to find him, Claire conducts her own investigation. Her best friend Drew helps her look for answers, but all she finds are troubling questions.

With every clue, she discovers that Greg may not be the man she thought she married.

While battling her growing feelings for Drew and raising her two young children, Claire must learn to live with the knowledge that the truth behind Greg’s disappearance may never be revealed.

Review:

I’ve had this thought a few times in life, usually after someone disappoints me by not being the type of person I’d made them to out to be: How well can one person truly know another?  Unless you can read minds, you really have not one iota of an idea of what someone else is thinking or keeping from you at any given moment. So instead, we trust.

And sometimes that comes back to bite us in the arse.

For Claire, the main character in Thought I Knew You, that moment comes when her husband mysteriously disappears and she begins to find out things that she wishes she hadn’t about him and their marriage.

While the plotting was well-done and fresh, it was the frame work for Moretti’s masterful use of words to convey the flesh of the story. More than once I found myself nodding as I read a sentence, agreeing with myself that “that was a beautiful way to put that feeling into words.”

Fans of Jodi Picoult will like this novel, as well as people who tend to read Oprah book club selections or Anita Shreve. It also reminded me a little of  Richmond’s The Year of Fog (only in the style and tragedy-based plot).  This novel has that feel of being “more than a book” as it painstakingly slices open one woman’s life and examines what it’s like for everything to be derailed without a moment’s notice.

I also want to add that the title is perfect. I wouldn’t be surprised if it didn’t address Claire’s thoughts about herself post-derailment, just as much as it seems to be aimed at the betrayal by her husband. All in all though, this is a book I highly recommend!

Thought I Knew You is available at:

Amazon (ebook and paperback formats)

Barnes & Noble

QuirkyGurl Media is pleased to be a stop on the blog tour for the newly released novel Thought I Knew You by Kate Moretti. For more tour locations, and to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway for some fabulous prizes, please visit the publisher’s site at http://redadeptpublishing.com/knew-you-blog-tour/  🙂 Good luck!

6 thoughts on “New Book Feature & Review – Thought I Knew You by Kate Moretti

Leave a Reply

