Book Review – How to Date a Werewolf by Rose Pressey

How to Date a Werewolf by Rose Pressey

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Having read another book by Pressey in the past (Rock n’ Roll is Undead) I somewhat knew what to expect– a quick fun paranormal read. And I was right.

But, this book was better in my opinion and I’m going to agree with another reviewer and say that Pressey has a gift for lighter, chick-lit style paranormal novels. Her ‘voice’ is unique and spot on, and I love the quirkiness that shines through as well.

I thought the plotting was fairly original and inventive. I’m quickly approaching middle-age (boo hiss!) so reading as the main character copes with unexpected hairiness was a good laugh. This book is choc full of humor, odd-ball characters and new takes on the paranormal stock rules. Pressey thinks outside of the box, and while it may not always pay off, it usually does for her.

On the mild complaint side, I was very irritated at Rylie’s best friends behavior, and thought she was let off the hook way too easy. Since this is a series, I’m curious to see how that relationship flows into the next book.

View all my reviews

Posted on September 20, 2012, in books, Reading and writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

