Book Review – The Shadowy Horses by Susanna Kearsley

The Shadowy HorsesThe Shadowy Horses by Susanna Kearsley

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

First off, I have to say that whoever designs Susanna Kearsley’s book covers is a flipping genius. (Not the cover to the right– there’s another version for this same book.) I adore most of them… they’re so dreamy and visually stunning.

But enough about my book cover fetish.

This is the first book that I’ve read by Kearsley and it was extremely well written– at times almost poetic with the descriptions. The overall premise was very interesting. I can tell the author likes doing her research, and also has a knack for knowing just how much detail is enough without overburdening the story. And to make this historical bits all the more interesting, she tossed in a few shakes of supernatural spice. (Think ghosts or residual hauntings- nothing with fangs or fur 🙂 )

As to the plot, I found it a little on the thin side and things felt a little too resolved at the end, while still leaving me with that old “unfinished” feeling. So I wasn’t totally wowed in that regard.

But the writing, the historical detail and the overall atmosphere of The Shadowy Horses was enough to more than make up for the flimsy plotting. So now that I know the author behind all these beautiful covers can actually craft a decent novel too, I’ll be sure to read more books by her in the near future!

(I received this book via Netgalley for review purposes. No monies were exchanged.)

*****The above is the cover I adore!!!

View all my reviews

One thought on “Book Review – The Shadowy Horses by Susanna Kearsley

Leave a Reply

