Book Review- H2O by Austin Boyd

H2O the NovelH2O the Novel by Austin Boyd

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Sometimes I find myself reading a book that, despite having a subject matter or theme that I usually go out of my way to avoid, I can’t stop myself from devouring in one sitting. The novel ‘H2O’ was one such read.

The writing was very evocative, which took the unusual premise to a whole new level. So much so that at times I felt like I was watching a movie instead of reading. The writing was fluid (sorry, couldn’t help the pun!) and the plot inventive and one of the most unique ones I’ve read in a long time.

The only drawback for me (and apparently not a big enough one to detract from the rating for me) was the religious undertones that crept into the book about halfway through. I wasn’t expecting that and felt a little like the blurb should have mentioned that fact that the novel could be considered Inspirational. The subtext was of a spiritual nature, but obviously Christian based in a passive way. Again, it gave me pause but otherwise I still think this was a fresh, original book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

