Book review – The Guardian of Bastet by Jacqueline M. Battisti

The Guardian of BastetThe Guardian of Bastet by Jacqueline M. Battisti

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was so much fun to read. I’m a paranormal fan, and I’ll admit that sometimes books tend to run together in my mind. But I don’t have to worry about that with this new series.

The main character Trinity is a below average shape-shifter. Her dad morphs into big cat, while she spends her monthly transformation chasing mice along side her house cat. Her aloof and somewhat cold mother comes from a long line of powerful witches, yet Trinity can cast a decent spell to save her life. All that changes when a demon starts killing off other supernatural beings in her community and Trinity is called to action.

I loved every bit of this novel. From the quirky, fallible characters to the “oops” date Trinity has with a strange man, it’s one compelling read. The Guardian of Bastet is chock-full of mythology, a decent dose of mystery and suspense and sets up future books very nicely. I keep thinking about this book, so I mean it when I say that I really hope the next one comes sooner rather than later!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

