Summer of the Wolves by Lisa Williams Kline – Book Review

Summer of the WolvesSummer of the Wolves by Lisa Williams Kline

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Although I don’t read much in the way of Young Adult (especially the very-young kind) I couldn’t help but falling in love with this story and the girls, so much so that my often angst-ridden early teen years floated to surface in my mind and I understood how the girls were feeling and thinking. To me, that means the author Lisa Williams Kline not only did her job with this book, but did it exceedingly well.

I didn’t feel like I was reading a book about two young girls who are suddenly step sisters and spirited away to have some family bonding time at a Dude Ranch. No, instead I breathed in the country air with them. I saw the captive wolves skulk around in their cage. I tensed while they went white-water rafting.

Overall, a terrific book about family (both born and cobbled together)and understanding, interlaced with details about wild wolves and a wolf pack’s hierarchy- which relates to the overall story as well.

Well written, clean enough for my ten-year old and engaging enough for this thirty-something Mom as well.

View all my reviews

Posted on July 28, 2012, in books, Reading and writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

