Jolie Wilkin’s Series (Books 1-3) by HP Mallory – Quickie Book Reviews

Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble (Jolie Wilkins, #1)Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble by H.P. Mallory (Jolie Wilkins Book #1)

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

**I read book 3 first (as an ARC) and loved it. So I went back to the beggining of the series to get my Rand / Sinjin fix!**

In some regards, this series starts out as a lot of typical paranormal chick books. Under-confident gal meets mysterious stranger, her life is upended and in the end she gets her hunk and some wicked-cool superpowers.

But this was not your typical paranormal.

Yes, Jolie has a little business reading people’s cards (fortunes) but her powers are hit-and miss. Other than her cat and an adorable BFF, she doesn’t have much of a social life. Then in walks Rand– a hunky, aloof guy with a job offer and more curiosity about her than Jolie can bear. But it’s not all “White Knight swooping in to save the day”. Oh, no.

The twists and turns are almost addictive. And the men, oh, the men. Introspective Rand. Hot-blooded (cold-blooded) Vampire Sinjin. Don’t expect your typical love triangle though.

As with the rest of the book, Mallory keeps every facet of this series fresh, smart and sassy. She knows how to build the uh, tension, as the story reaches it’s climax, only to leave the reader wanting more 🙂

Toil and Trouble (Jolie Wilkins, #2)Toil and Trouble by H.P. Mallory ( Jolie Wilkins Book #2)

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

**I read book 3 first (as an ARC) and loved it. So I went back to the beggining of the series to get my Rand / Sinjin fix!**

I adore this series, even more than I love Nutella, the combination of chocolate and peanut butter, or my inexplicable love of all things 80’s. I loved watching Jolie as she becomes her destiny. I become frustrated right along side her when Rand is being hard-headed, and (dare I say it?) I blush when she does at the latest of Sinjin’s attempts to woo her.

I reviewed the Third Book a while back here, but I’ll repost for again for convienence 🙂

Witchful Thinking (Jolie Wilkins, #3)Witchful Thinking by H.P. Mallory (Jolie Wilkins Book #3)

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Having not read the first two books in this series, I expected to be a little behind while reading it. But there is enough back-story in this book that I got most everything that happened prior to this novel. I could see that as a lot of filler for someone who had already read the previous books though, but I guess that’s the price you pay for trying to keep everybody happy.

Overall, I really liked the main character Jolie, and I seem to be just as confused about her possible love interests as she is. (I wanted to whack Rand upside his handsome face a few times and Sinjin surprised me quite a few times too ~swoon!) The plotting kept me going and I finished this book in about three hours on this lazy Sunday afternoon.

That being said, a few things bugged me. Jolie doesn’t want to be the Queen, yet she seems to be falling right into the “I’m the Queen, so you have to do it” mantra. Also, a few things seem to be accepted a little too easily, or forgotten fairly quickly. Take the Prophetess (or priestess, I forget already) Mercedes… Surely I can’t be the only one who smells something rotten in Denmark here. She finds out something, or somehow knows a helpful tidbit, and no one questions it. Even when it seems hinky.

I’ll read more by Mallory of course, back to the beginning to see if that makes me feel better about this book. Overall I really liked it, but I wanted to love it– you know?

View all my reviews

My only regret now is that I have to wait for the fourth book to come out!

Posted on July 6, 2012, in books, Reading and writing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

