Book Review – Driving Me Nuts by PJ Jones

Driving Me Nuts!Driving Me Nuts! by P.J. Jones

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Having read a short story by PJ Jones (Ralphie the “Special” Werewolf, I think it was) in an anthology collection, I already knew the Jones has some serious comedic chops. So I expected this novel to be funny based on that and of course the cover. And it was… that’s quirky-funny, not silly-funny. There is a big difference.

What I wasn’t expecting was for Driving Me Nuts to have some substantial meat to it as well. Funny yes, but only funny– no. In fact, the absurd/ crazy moments balance out the more serious notes perfectly, making for a complex, satisfying novel.

And what better way to deal with life in all it’s craptastic glory, than to inject a little humor into it? In the end, I knew those damn nut-jobs, felt like they were friends or neighbors. Who am I kidding– they were my kin 🙂

Excellent fast-paced, quirky plot, tight writing and 3-D :jump out at you” characters. I will not hesitate to read more books my PJ Jones. In fact, I’m off to search for whatever else she’s written.

View all my reviews

********

As an aside, Amazon Select seems to have lost it’s luster (more on that once I get all my thoughts together) so I’ve decided to go ahead and burn through the last few freebie days I have left with the newly released Kill Me.

Download Kill Me for FREE only on May 14th or 15th, 2012 here: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007UPOLR6

Leave a Reply

