Book Review – Play Dead by Anne Frasier

Play DeadPlay Dead by Anne Frasier

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Despite the fact that I have numerous other books in my to-be-read pile I couldn’t help moving Play Dead to the front based on the cover alone. It’s fantastically creepy and morose. Which I was apparently in the mood for when I started reading this earlier today.

Ironically, after I finished the book I realized that I’ve recently read another book by Frasier (HUSH) and while I enjoyed that one, I adored this novel.

Set in the sweltering south amid voodoo lore and “root doctoring” (a phrase I hadn’t heard in a while) the main character Elise is divorced,a detective, living in a perpetually partially renovated house and has a daughter who’d rather be anywhere else. And then there is the detached partner who’s keeping secrets to preserve his own sanity. When bodies start coming to life after being declared dead, Elise and her partner are swept into a dark world of spells, secrets and betrayals.

I found this novel an excellent read. With it’s evocative setting, woven in folklore and complex character issues, I couldn’t get it read fast enough. At the end (well done, by the way) I found myself hoping that there is at least a sequel planned, if not a whole series.

Play Dead is a quirky, fast-paced mystery with undercurrents of family drama and southern lore. I’ve become an Anne Frasier fan with this one for sure!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

