Book Review – Disintegration by Scott Nicholson

DisintegrationDisintegration by Scott Nicholson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is the first book that I’ve read in a while that has me at a loss when it comes time to review. I don’t necessarily mean that in a bad way. I’m just torn. So I guess I’ll just elaborate and let the readers make up their own minds.

First, Nicholson is a stellar writer. In this novel, he’s given us rare glimpses into the F-ed up minds of the characters. (Sorry to be so blunt, but that’s completely accurate, in my opinion.) Nicholson’s like an evil genius that way– to show me how completely screwed up a person can become while still functioning in society. The plot is twisty and murky at times, and I totally didn’t see the numerous plot twists at the end. The opening chapters were some of the hardest I’ve ever read– in terms of tragic subject matter, but they were also the most visceral and vivid I’ve read in a while too.

Now, I had a few minor issues too. I feel like there wasn’t a single character to root for through the suspenseful plot. I liked the wife (forget her name, sometimes my own too) well enough, but almost from the beginning I was conflicted by her. Something seemed off about her. So I didn’t make a connection with any of them, really. As good as this book was, it would have been stellar if I’d grown to care for someone, only to see the error of my ways at the end.

My other nit-pick is the names of the twin main characters, Joseph and Jacob. I get it. Twins have twinsy names, but dang-it, I had to go back and read once or twice because I kept confusing the two and then what was happening at the time didn’t make as much sense. I hate getting sucked out of the story like that. But, it only happened infrequently and I’ve already confessed my lack of name-remembering, so the fault there might be my own.

Overall, I will certainly read more by Nicholson, as his mind seems to be as warped as my own and I can’t wait to see what else he’s created in that diabolical noggin of his!

View all my reviews

Posted on April 10, 2012, in books, Indie authors, Reading and writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

