Book Review – Dead Is the New Black by Christine DeMaio-Rice

Dead Is the New BlackDead Is the New Black by Christine DeMaio-Rice

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Although this novel is billed as a cozy mystery, it is far more than that. Dead Is the New Black is a complex novel, woven with delicate finesse by the author. At it’s core is a heroine that underestimates herself on many different levels. She’s smart, talented, and takes it upon herself to get to the bottom of everything. Which gets her into trouble. But I don’t need to elaborate– that’s what book blurbs are for.

I will say that I really enjoyed this book. It’s been polished to perfection by the author and that really shows. The careful crafting and layering of details made me feel like a part of the novel, and not just a reader. That characters were well developed and the setting (in a design house one week before a big fashion show)is fabulous. It was one of the cleanest books I’ve read in a while too– no profanity, adult situations or graphic violence. (Of course, that makes me realize how much of the books that I read actually has all that stuff. Oy!)

I’m definitely going to keep an eye open for more novels from this author!

View all my reviews

Posted on March 25, 2012, in books, Indie authors, Reading and writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

