Other Creative Outlets for Writers?

This past weekend, an absolutely goregous spring day, I photographed my sister and her fiance. Out of the blue, it hit me. ——-> I needed to get my expanding-can outside more often and be creative. As the shutter on my camera clicked and clacked, my brain untangled plot holes, drafted the next novel in my subconscious, calmly listed the things I needed to do for the promo of my upcoming release.

Now, you might be wondering why I had the above epiphany? It’s easy, really. Doing a non-writing creative thing unlocked my brain, allowing for thoughts to flow more organically.

I’m not just a writer. I’m a photographer. A graphic artist. A fine art aficionado. A Pinterest freak. A painter, a crafter, a gardener.

It’s all those creative endeavors that make me the quirky gurl that I am. I just have to remember that writing all the time doesn’t work for me. I need to pick up a paint brush, dig in some dirt, click that shutter– so that my muse likes being with me enough to stick around for a good long while!

So, what do you do to stoke the creative fires between writing sessions? I’d love for you to comment, post, or show off your artistic creations!

Posted on March 21, 2012, in Indie authors, interests, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. newprairiestore

    I’m a writer, business owner, with several other professions & interests (wanting to get into Pinterest soon, too)…it does help to “mix it up” a little bit. I can really appreciate your post ~ very inspiring! : )

  2. This is great and I can relate. I’m a writer, but like to dabble in photography and fine art as well. I call these “writing-ish” activities. I turn to them whenever I’m stuck in my writing, but still need to free the creative juices!

Leave a Reply

