Sing You Home by Jodi Picoult – Book Review

I can always count on Jodi Picoult to gather me up by the heart strings, pull and prod and jangle my emotions a bit while reading her work, and this book was no exception. I gravitate towards her books because I know that they will be well-written, and she assumes that her readers are intelligent enough to fill in the blanks. I found that in this book, Sing You Home, in particular she has created flawed characters with sins and narrow-minded views of the world, yet she does not condemn or condone their actions. Rather she just weaves a brilliant, multi-faceted story and lets the reader see the humans behind the imperfections.

Sing You Home has a bit of everything (infertility- a theme near to my own heart) failed relationships, unexpected attractions, religious bigotry, medical debates- and yet the story never feels one-sided, tired or played out. It takes a certain amount of finesse to pull that off in these times. Since I received the hard copy for review, I will certainly hand this off so someone else can enjoy it as much as I did. That is, if I can find a friend who hasn’t made the ebook leap!

Posted on August 17, 2011, in books, Reading and writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

