Three-Ways Thursdays: Meet Author G.R. Yeates

Well, it’s that time again- time for another installment of Three Ways Thursday’s! So grab your poision (beer, wine, the hard-stuff- we don’t judge), slip into something more comfortable and prepare yourself for some rollicking good fun!

Today’s spotlight Author is the talented G.R. Yeates. So settle in, check out his fabulous book and get to know the man behind the novel. Enjoy!

Part One: The Facts

Author Name: G.R. Yeates

Website: http//www.gryeates.co.uk

Quirky Factor: Dependent on alcohol levels

G.R. Yeates lives and works in London. He was born in Rochford, Essex and studied English Literature & Media Studies at university. He has taught English as a foreign language in China and trained for two years with a professional opera singer. He writes every day and sleeps very little.

 

What’s your favorite book and why?   Difficult question but I would say that it is This Way for the Gas, Ladies and Gentlemen by Tadeusz Borowski. It’s a fictionalized account of his experiences in the Auschwitz concentration camp. I read it during a phase of where I studied the Holocaust in my own time and it was very controversial when it was first published as it does not condemn the Nazis outright in a black-and-white fashion, as you would expect. It actually examines how those who survived collaborated and compromised in order not to be sent to the gas chambers and how this, in fact, mirrors the ways people behave in wider society. As you might imagine, it is an unsettling read for this reason and it has stuck with me ever since.

 

 

What is the first story you ever wrote?   I think it was a very crude prose poem about a ghoul breaking out of a town morgue and going on the rampage. I’m slightly more sophisticated now, but only slightly.

 

 

What is your ideal writing routine/ environment?  A quiet place where I am surrounded by books for easy reference. I can’t focus very well if there is music or noise and it needs to be a space in my home. My mindset doesn’t mesh right if I’m elsewhere, pretentious as that might sound.

 

 

Do you share your work with relatives/ friends or do you keep it to yourself?  I share it with my proofreaders and editor, no-one else before publication.

 

 

What genre (that you don’t currently write in) do you think would be a blast to try out?   I’ve considered thrillers and sword & sorcery so far but I’m most concerned with building a body of work as a horror writer first. Diversifying I may well do but I don’t want to split my readership just yet when my identity as a creative artist is still pretty early in its development.

 

What are you working on now?   I’m working on the last edits for my second release, Shapes in the Mist.

 


 

THE EYES OF THE DEAD

Blurb:    Vampires are loose in the trenches of the First World War.
Passchendaele, 1917. Private Reg Wilson is a man with a name but no memories. A soldier who remembers nothing of life before the fighting began. Until he comes to Black Wood, a tainted place that knows him intimately. There, he will discover a darkness buried long ago by time and dust. An appetite that has been awoken by war. A hunger that will feed upon his blood, his regrets and his worst fears. It will show him what he has forgotten. It will show him nightmare made flesh. And, before he dies, it will make him look deep into the eyes of the dead.

 

AVAILABLE AT:

Amazon  /  Barnes and Noble

 

Part Three: Nonsense!

As mentioned in my bio, I taught English in China for one year. During this time, I traveled around the country so I have walked along the Great Wall, been inside the Forbidden City and taken an illegal boat trip down the Li River, which is surrounded by limestone mountains that were formed under the earth’s crust before being thrown up by an eruption. Not one of the mountains is mountain-shape. One example being ‘apple mountain’, the name speaks for itself.

Following on from that, outside of the more traditional literary interests of a Western writer, I do enjoy Asian literature and poetry. One of the elements that I think it has that we often do not is a sense of capturing a mood, a moment, a transient atmosphere. Even in translation, I find reading the writing from that part of the world evokes beauty and dream-states in a way that we struggle to compete with as Western literature is more often concerned with plot, a set sequences of events and everything building to a climax and resolution. I think this is a structure that can sometimes feel like a cage I need to break out of. Whether one is better than the other is down to subjective preference but I enjoy the difference and find it refreshing to experience.

On a less literary note, I can report that Chinese booze is lethal shit. If you drink rice wine in sufficient quantities, your short-term memory will desert you, you may see glowing neon mouths appear out of thin air, experience being skull-fucked by Pinhead and his cenobites and then wake-up to the memory of watching the restaurant staff cleaning the tables with the same stuff you were knocking back. Yes, that stuff is very strong and kills 99% of, well, everything.

 *******************************************************************

I do hope you’ve enjoyed this segment of THREE-WAYS THURSDAYS and I want to thank author G.R. Yeates for stopping by. Vampires running a muck during WW 1 ! You should definitely go check out his book right now. Go on, you know you want to.

Until next time peeps!

~Karen

Posted on August 11, 2011, in authors, books, Indie authors, publishing, Reading and writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

