Colin Preston Rocked And Rolled – Book Review

Reading this book made me realize that it has been a very long time since I’ve read a book with a youngish male narrator. Sure, I’ve read some James Patterson, but those don’t really count, as his stories are less about characters and more about suspenseful plots. This book Colin Preston Rocked and Rolled is male-character-driven, and I found the change out of my norm refreshing. 

Boiled down to basics, it was the story of a young man, adrift during his first year of college for various reasons I won’t go into for spoiler reasons. It has quirky characters, like the Napoleon in the basement and the sage visiting Professor, and we always love Quirky around here. There’s also a good bit of musical commentary throughout (Colin is enamored with the Beatles and the novel is on 80’s time) which gives the novel an interesting flavor.

At times I felt a little irritated by the main character Colin. He thinks like a guy, and I don’t (unless we’re talking firearms, but I digress.) But  it’s possible to care for someone and want to chuck them on the back of the head a time or two (just ask my younger brother!) and such is the case with this novel. I found myself pulling for dear, wounded Colin, hoping that he would come through his troubles like we have all been forced to do at some point or another.

The author, Bert Murray, wove common themes of friendship, love and betrayal throughout the story with considerable skill. In the end, I was glad to have read the book. If you are looking for a coming-of-age tale with interesting characters, a smattering of 80’s music and classic rock and roll, then Colin Preston Rocked and Rolled should suit you just fine!

This book is available at Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Leave a Reply

