Tommy Nightmare by JL Bryan – Book Review

Tommy Nightmare (Jenny Pox #2)Tommy Nightmare by J.L. Bryan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

As the second book in the JENNY POX series, I found this novel, TOMMY NIGHTMARE to be all that I expected and then some. As with the first book, the unusual plot and otherworldly characters drive the story on at a good pace. This book picks up where JENNY POX left off, and without giving away any spoilers, I’ll just say that Jenny has to deal with a few things, including the fact that her secret may be exposed and a set of new dangers crops up.

More characters like Jenny with special “talents” show up in this second novel and I’ll just say they have some interesting abilities as well. The How and Why of these abilities are explained further and the story goes back in time to explore some of the past reincarnations of Jenny and the others. At it’s heart, this novel is a tale of the struggles of opposites. Good and evil, love and hate, hurting and healing. JL Bryan explores these themes with finesse and deep-level character development.

I found myself gripping my book, flipping pages as fast as I could during some parts, while slowing to savor the prose at other times. In other words, I am surely hooked into this series, and I can’t wait to see what Bryan has planned for Jenny and the others in the next book! Recommended for older YA readers and adults that like their supernatural/ paranormal fiction to have originality and a solid story arc.

View all my reviews

Posted on June 30, 2011, in books, Reading and writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve seen these books around and wondered if they might be what I liked. Think your review pushed me over the edge to try it out. Jenny Pox first though, eh?

Leave a Reply

