The Girl in the Coffee Shop by Caedem Marquez – Book Review

The Girl In The Coffee ShopThe Girl In The Coffee Shop by Caedem Marquez
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This short story was an interesting quick read, and the author has a distinctive voice. I found myself irritated at the main character Gertrude (mainly with her religious assumptions) but then the next I just felt sorry for her. There are comedic overtones, bracketed by down-to-the-bone clarity and insight. Marques is bound to be someone you will hear more of in the future.

Marquez certainly has a way with words and even if I hadn’t enjoyed The Girl in the Coffee Shop, I would have still given this book Five stars based on the excerpt of The Path Home (to be released later this summer 2011) at the ending. The writing in the excerpt is exquisite, and I will be one of the first people to get a copy of The Path Home when it’s released!

View all my reviews

Posted on June 16, 2011, in books, Reading and writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

