Excerpt from SKIN – #samplesunday

In the spirit of #samplesunday (on Twitter) here’s an excerpt from the short story “The Tattooist” which can be read in full in SKIN: Short Fiction which is available at Amazon in Kindle format. Tis story is a stand-alone one, featuring the main character of my upcoming release BLOOD CHORD, which should hit the bookstores in another month or so.
****

“Don’t worry. It will only hurt a little bit.” He teased. 

I welcomed the pain, assuming I could feel it. It might distract me just enough to keep my composure. 

“Good,” I said without meaning to. 

“Good it will hurt, or Good it will only hurt for a little while.” He teased.
I only laughed, letting him think what he wanted.

“Ready?” he said, poised to begin. 

I gritted my teeth and nodded. The little steel gun hummed to life, like an oversized mosquito buzzing behind my head. He pulled the skin taut with one hand and started. 

I sucked in a deep breath as he sliced at my skin. The pain was sharp and intense, like a thousand tiny needles were stabbing into me. My heart thumped once, hard, and I felt the now-familiar shifting in my upper jaw. 

I breathed in through my nose, to calm myself, which actually made things worse. I not only smelled his blood, but the air was ripe with my own AB-positive. My lip twitched and I snapped my mouth shut. 

****If you liked this story and want to read more of Claire, please join the mailing list so that you can “get the memo” when BLOOD CHORD is published. Thanks!

Posted on May 29, 2011, in books, Reading and writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m not a big fan of Vampire fiction but this has me curious. Nice sample.

  2. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

