Anathema by Megg Jensen – Book Review

Anathema (Cloud Prophet Trilogy, #1)Anathema by Megg Jensen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Anathema is a well-written, fast paced YA fantasy that hooks you into the story from the very first page. I read a great deal of paranormal books, but I seldom stray into the land of Fantasy. I’m logical-brained and usually it takes too much for me to suspend my beliefs and really get into fantasy books. That was not the case with this novel though, and I’m glad that I stepped outside of my comfort zone.

I’ll skip the synopsis, because that’s what book blurbs are for. I will say that this book touches on universal themes like friendship and loyalty, and secrets and betrayals expertly and with finesse.

Jensen is a gifted writer who has developed well-rounded, complex characters, plot twists that you won’t see coming, and a fantasy world that believable and just detailed enough so a reader can use their own imagination. My interest was snared and held throughout the book (in fact, I read it in one sitting) and I will surely be on the lookout for the sequel to Anathema.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

