A Picture’s Worth A Thousand, So What’s A Cover Worth?

I’d be lying if I didn’t say that a book’s cover is one of the biggest reasons why I even take a further look, instead of passing it by. A great cover makes me read the title. If the title is great, or even good, I’ll read the blurb. If the blurb sounds interesting, I’ll download the sample. If the sample has me, I buy the book.

Do you see how many steps/ decisions I make before I actually purchase a book? And since my first chance to pass by the book comes with briefly looking at the cover art, I want to show a few covers that I think are Fabulous, and maybe say a bit about why I like them.

Madame Tussaud: A Novel of the French Revolution

Madame Tussaud’s cover is bright, vivid and the layout is stunning. Notice how the hedge trees come to a “V” essentially leading your eye to the female in the center. I can tell She’s important, commanding even, just from the cover. And it also lets me know the book is historical. Well done cover.

Take the Monkeys and Run (Barbara Marr Murder Mystery, #1)

Take The Monkey’s and Run has a great cover. I actually just finished reading this novel (review coming soon!) but I can tell you that the cover perfectly matches the comedic tone of this light-hearted mystery. It’s bold, the art is simple which allows the title to be noticed right away. Since it’s such a great title, that helps to move a prospective buyer right onto the next decision phase- reading the blurb or sample.

The Year of Fog

I have to prefix my commentary on the cover by saying that I adored this book, The Year of Fog. The cover has a grungy feel so you know it’s going to be fairly serious, and by the way the woman has her hand protectively on the girl’s shoulder, you can just tell that something bad is coming. Not only do the sparse bright colors catch your eye, but the overall tone helps to keep it there. Great book, and terrific cover.

The Violets of March: A Novel

I haven’t read this, but just from the cover I know I will. Sometimes it just goes like that. Even if the blurb is mediocre, I’ll still probably go for it. Now that’s a great book cover!

Posted on May 20, 2011, in books, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The Violets of March cover is gorgeous. I think you’re right, a great cover makes a huge difference in ebooks. It’s the first impression of a book you get, and based on that alone you make the decision to click through or not.

    • Yes, and it doesn’t hurt that I’m a sucker for a great cover 🙂 I’ve been known to read outside of my normal genres based on the art work alone 🙂

Leave a Reply

