Beautiful Lies by Lisa Unger – Book Review

Beautiful Lies (Ridley Jones, #1)Beautiful Lies by Lisa Unger
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What would you do if you found out your whole life might be been a lie? Would you set off an a journey to find out not matter the danger, or would you turn your back to the truth and pretend to believe in the beautiful lies you’ve been told? That’s the crux of this story, a suspenseful novel of family secrets buried long ago, and a far reaching conspiracy that started out as a noble cause but quickly got out of control.

I enjoyed this novel, and stayed up later than I should have to finish it. It was at times funny, full of mystery and suspense, and I found myself highlighting more passages than normal. The writing was tight and beautifully crafted. I did feel, however, that the reveal of some of the secrets didn’t have the initial emotional “punch in the gut” for the main char. and I would have like to have seen a little bit more anger, outrage, etc. That could just be me though. Overall, I’d rate this book at a 4 out of 5 Turtles. (read the book and you may get that!)

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

