Mobile Multi-tasking for the creative lady

I’ll be the first to admit, life has gotten away from me before, but somehow the past few months have been complete chaos. Following a series of electronic malfunctions, I found a tiny answer to my prayers for organization.

Three days before Christmas my Kindle died. Of course it was too late to hope that Santa would bring me a replacement. I pined over the loss of my literary friend. I even tried to download the Kindle app to my mac laptop– but of course my operating system wasn’t new enough. Then the laptop itself died. Obviously I’d ticked off a toaster in a past life or something.

Without something to read on, and without my internet browsing ability I flopped around the house aimlessly. I couldn’t afford to replace both devices, and I was torn between what to get first. And then I had a brain storm- I’d get an ipad and have the functionality of both devices neatly rolled into one!

Now I can read at a moments notice and search till my hearts content. But that’s not all that my little ipad had helped me with. I can blog from it– which I’m doing right now. WordPress has a free ipad app, and while I am using it right now I will probably upgrade to one of the paid third party apps soon as the free version is pretty buggy.

As a busy working mother, keeping current on what’s happening in the world is hardly a priority. Then I downloaded the free Huffington Post ipad app, and it has quickly become one of my go-to daily apps. It’s chock full of current events, news stories, reviews, op-ed pieces and interesting slideshows.

As an avid reader, I’ve downloaded three apps, and I switch between them all willy-nilly. It’s my right as a woman to be fickle 🙂 While the Kindle ipad app is the main one I use, I also have Apple’s iBook, and the Barnes and Noble Nook app.

To occupy my children during long waits at the doctor’s office, I’ve got a nifty white-board drawing app from Ms Oprah herself called SketchBook O. My children also love tickling the ivories on the virtual piano app Virtuoso.

Evernote, StoryTracker and Index Card are all terrific apps that I’m now using to organize my thoughts and to (hopefully) get my writing-butt back into gear.

Dropbox is another free app that has been a blessing for me, since it lets me sync files and folders between my ipad and my desktop computer. It has helped me out a lot with my photography business, and coupled with the great apps Easy Release (digital, email-able release contracts), Square (allows me to take credit cards right from my ipad or iphone!) and Paypal my workflow has become more fluid and productive.

Am I an ipad fan. Yes, and no. I’m not a fan because of the “brand” craze or snobbish peacocking. I am a fan because of all the helpful, organized, productive, and creative things that my ipad lets me do.

I’d love to hear about any other great apps you guys know of as well!

Leave a Reply

