Living with Creative Purpose

I am trying to do this,I swear. It’s a struggle, but one that pays out in dividends if you can manage to pull it off. 

So what am I talking about? Go back to the title, re-read it if you have to. Ahh! There.

Now, allow me to explain. I’ve discovered, through months, if not years, of cycling through “dry” non-creative periods and “overflowing” creative times, that life is so much more worth living when one can look at it through the eye of an artist. Instead of the depressing winter landscape, one sees a time of dramatic beauty, hard lines and complex moods. Instead of feeling the oppressive heat of summer, ones takes a moment to sit against the bark of a tree, feeling the kiss of filtered sunlight while birds and squirrels chase each other around the branches above you. 

Am I making any sense? If not, I mean to say that by becoming more creative, you can alter your entire life. I know this is true, but still, keeping my artistic vision isn’t easy. Life, as it often does, will get in the way. Kids will get sick, and of course, then I get sick. 

Knowing how my creative juices permeate the rest of my life, I must make an effort to keep stirring the pot. And I will, now that I know what I know. Forget Prozac,just give me some oils and a canvas, or even a camera.

I’ll leave you with a few parting shots, of some of my favorite shots:

All of these, and more, can be seen at my Fine Art America Page… you can find the link up on the right hand side.

Posted on December 11, 2009, in art, living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

